This ole broad

Standard

My family and I recently made a HUGE change in our lives.

My husband quit his job.  I left behind a network I’d been building for my self-employed business.  We cleared out our house and found renters for it.  We moved back to my hometown.

Why?  Why would we leave all of this seemingly perfect existence behind?

How?  How can everyone assume that just because my husband had a job, I had a business and we had a house…that life was what it was supposed to be for us?

The answer:  I thought we were the happiest we could be, while doing what was expected of us by the norms of society.

Well, well well.

Here’s the “Big Picture”– We still felt like we were missing out on something.  We were gardening.  We were eating organic foods, and reading books and baking cookies and playing board games.  We thought we were living this authentic life.  We thought this, until we let it all go and allowed what was meant to be to fall into place.

Here is our story.

My husband had a job with an EMS service.  He drove an ambulance and responded to 911 calls.  He loved the job…but eventually couldn’t deal with all of the outrageous “corporate bullshit” (as he calls it).  In fact, he had such a hard time dealing with expectations of the corporation that toward the end of  the last chapter of our life, he ended up being prescribed an anti-depression medication.

Here, I must tell you that my husband and I are sort of hippies.  Hippy is the best word I can say to get you to understand that we sort of ebb and flow with life in a way that original humans used to live.  We don’t watch TV.   We don’t eat processed foods.  We don’t drink soft drinks. I don’t shop for clothes and pretty girl things.  He doesn’t wear Sperry’s and watch sports.

We are a pair of folks who can sit and stare at the forest in a pair of Goodwill lawn chairs and be content. We feel that we are, in short, not your average couple.

Anyhow…back to our story.  Being on a form of prescription, mind altering medication was not an option for us.   In our original thoughts, we had no choice.  He had to take the medication to keep the job, to keep the house, to feed the baby, to live the American Dream.

It wasn’t until we realized that today’s “American Dream” is NOT how we want to live.  We don’t want to be a part of it.

So…in short, we both moved back to the area where my husband spent his teenage years, and I spent the first 20 years of my life.  We moved in with my Aunt, a family member that I had never allowed myself the pleasure of knowing beyond the courteous southern getting-to-know you conversations I’d had with her all of my life.  She has recently lost the love of her life. Her husband of almost 20 years.  She was dark, depressed and lonely.  She offered up her home to us in such a serendipitous way…in such a perfect synchronistic manner.  We went for it.

Now…we are both living under her (paid for) roof.  She recently went to an Attorney and had the house and property willed to us.  She has allowed us to come in and move in all of our things to fit our style.  She doesn’t care what we do with her walls, her cabinets or her closets.  She is a beacon of light, leading us away from our lonely island existence.  The island of misfit grown-up-toys that we thought we needed to work all of our lives to attain.

Add to this, our son.  We have a son who is almost two years old.  We had a hard time finding trustworthy people to watch him when we both needed to work.  We were landlocked about an hour and a half away from all of our family and friends.

Now, we have my Aunt to watch him and love him and teach him as he grows.  Her help in watching him has allowed us to follow our dreams.  The dreams we never thought we could attain.

I’m a photographer, so it is easy for me to work hard when I really want to 🙂

My husband is gardening and working toward building a self sustainable future for our family.

We have created a business together in which we find used or unwanted items in thrift stores, at yard and garage sales, etc. and find a buyer for them.  We salvage trash from curbs and turn others’ waste into profit.

We are living our bliss.

Living your bliss is hard to describe.  I wake up each morning whenever I want to (remember…I get to work hard when I really want to!)  My husband is an excellent cook.  He has taken to cooking all of us breakfast each morning.  We found a local source of eggs from a farmer, so we get the good stuff.  I fiddle around selling things on the internet for a few hours (or however many hours I want) and then have all of the free time I need to play with my son and watch him grow.  I have a craft room filled with boxes of fabric and trinkets just waiting to be turned into art.  I have a yard that is begging for original flower beds and beehives.  I am living well beyond my years.

Hmm…Living beyond your years.  Since I have moved in with family, I feel I have aged in wisdom in the past month than I have in the past six years.  I feel that I must be an old soul, because I don’t fit in with people my age.   I am living the life of a retired woman.  I even make sure I run my errands before everyone gets out of school or off work.

I recently had one of the best conversations I’ve had in a long time with a woman in her 70’s.  She is the wife of the farmer with the eggs I mentioned before.  We talked about farming and gardening and the chickens.  We laughed about the price of flower bulbs at Lowes, and how you can just dig some up from a family member who has excess plants for free.

What does this say about me?  I’d think that it says more about my generation.  We don’t know how to talk about real things anymore.  How did life become technology?

Bathe, work, eat.  That schedule is not living.  Wake up.  If you can find a way out, take it.  Dump off your Ego and your pride…and live.  Dream your happiest dream vividly and while you are awake.

2 responses »

  1. Well, you actually ARE living the American Dream. Most people just don’t get to enjoy it until about 40 years of the other stuff. I know plenty of people who try to get the American Dream too early… but they usually end up back in their parent’s basement. You’re very lucky to have many more retirement years ahead of you! Maybe you should see if they let you join AARP and get the discount. 🙂

    Like

    • It is funny that you mention discounts 🙂 My Aunt and I have cruised through the Chick-Fil-A drive thru a few times (it is our guilty American pleasure) and treated ourselves to a meal reduced in cost via the “Senior Discount.”

      Life is good! Thanks for your encouragement, Carr!e.

      Like

Leave a Reply

