A Facebook post

Standard
“My life has changed on many levels in the past few months. I have had time to contemplate who I am and where I am going…who I want to be.

A large identity of any person is their profession. I cannot express how thankful I am to those who have encouraged me to choose photography as my career. It has been quite a wild ride…and somehow I am still strapped in.

Over the past week, I have been negotiating and corresponding through email with a potential client. This particular client has asked me to photograph an exhibition that will host former secretary of state Madeleine Albright.

Today, I booked it through email.

I have many emotions involved with this request: excitement, joy, stomach cramps…

In the past hour, I have reflected on my photographic past, and just can’t believe that THIS is where it has taken me. Please understand, I am not typing this status to “fish for compliments.”

I’m really just reflecting…publicly…on just how amazing life can be if you follow your bliss.

Somehow, a ‘status’ of “YAAAAY!” just doesn’t cut it ;)”

The above was a recent Facebook status.  I’m proud of how my thoughts are slowly progressing.  I wanted to share the news of my high-profile booking, but I also wanted to do it in a way that didn’t come across as egotistical or snobbish.  I feel like I am getting better at just being true and present.

Leave a Reply

